#NoMakeUp – Cancer Awareness

Thank you Aid and Lucy for your nomination!!

First of all, a few things id like to get out of the way..

1) This is for raising awareness, right? So for me, with the blog it is the best possible way for me to spread the word!

2) I feel very strongly that it is also about giving, It is for a charity and for research after all, with out research and funding, great progresses will happen slower, and this costs lives.

Now that’s out of the way …. 

Wow, #NoMakeUpSelfie has taken the day by storm!! Its been a great way to raise cancer awareness and I am certain that this week they would have raised more money than usual from a £1 donation and a ‘Selfie’ snap, to those bailing on their ‘naked’ photo with a £10 defeat!

I nearly didn’t put my ‘Selfie’ up, because I don’t think it really means anything, but no one wants to be a spoilt sport!! I’m putting my naked face on the internet today because everyone I love knows what it look like anyway… spots, expression lines and all, so whats another picture of my mug?!

What I will say, is that today did make me think of those magic brushes and wands that live in our make up bags… 

On a day to day basis I wonder how I would get through the day without my mascara, then I had a moment to think about those who have to live without something every day, whether it be those who lost their love to Cancer, or those who have the strength to push through with temporary losses like their hair…  My mascara didn’t seem so important all of a sudden.

Contents of my make up bag

My Mascara is my favourite item (then my red lipstick !!!), its Dior Blackout and it costs £23 and I’m not ashamed to say it because I LOVE it so. Thinking about it made me feel guilty for not giving.. so, what I’ve decided to do is donate the value of my ‘Cant Live Without’  item from my make up bag.. I’m going to donate the cost of my mascara to Cancer awareness today because if it ran out tomorrow id replace it in an instant, and I wouldn’t think twice.

If you decide you want to donate – Donate securely and simply by texting PINK03 £3 to 70070 to donate £3 now. To donate another amount, just change the amount after the £ sign – for example, PINK03 £10

See more at: http://www.breastcancercampaign.org/support-us/donate/donate-online#sthash.07SUb0yl.dpuf

Remember… Every penny counts

FS x

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

